Saturday, July 25, 2009

Mike Johnson wins NASCAR Late Model race at Irwindale

Mike Johnson of Covina won the NASCAR Late Model race at Toyota Speedway at Irwindale on Saturday night. It was his second win of the year.
Tim Huddleston of Agoura Hills and Nick Joanides of Woodland Hills entered the night’s race tied for the lead in the Late Model standings at the track. Huddleston finished in fifth and Joanides was sixth. Huddleston, the reigning Late Model champion at Irwindale, has a two-point lead in the Late Model standings.
A pair of rookies from Reno, Nev., and both drivers for Huddleston’s High Point Racing team came in second and third. Dallas Colodny was second and Beau Debard was third.
Pat Mintey Jr. of Quartz Hill snapped the three-race winning streak of RJ Johnson in the NASCAR Super Trucks division. Mintey won his third race of the season and his first since April 18.
Jeff Peterson of Riverside was second, followed by Ron Peterson in third.
Johnson, a driver from Canyon Country and winner of four of the past five races, finished eighth.
The Super Trucks race featured a pair of Irwindale veterans and past track champions. Rod Johnson, the father of RJ Johnson and winner of the first NASCAR Super Late Model championship in 1999, completed only 14 laps and finished 20th. John Watkinson, a driver from Canyon Country and a two-time track champion in the Grand American Modifieds, finished 11th.
Brandon Toy of Bakersfield won the Legends Cars race and took over the lead in the Legend Cars standings. Toy has a two-point lead over Ryan Reed of Bakersfield, who finished fifth in the race.
Tom Landreth of Alta Loma was second, followed by Darren Amidon of Santee.
Steve Stewart of Long Beach won the figure 8s race. It was his third win of the season and his third win in the past four races. Stewart extended his lead in the figure 8 standings. Rod Proctor of Riverside was second, followed by Billy Ziemann of Bloomington in third.

No comments:

Post a Comment