Saturday, August 22, 2009

Mike Johnson wins third straight NASCAR Late Model race at Irwindale

Mike Johnson of Covina won his third straight NASCAR Late Model race and Tim Huddleston of Agoura Hills lost his lead in the Late Model standings at Toyota Speedway at Irwindale on Saturday night.
The top-three drivers in the Late Model standings are separated by 38 points. Nick Joanides of Woodland Hills took over the lead in the Late Model standings. He has an 18-point lead over Huddleston, the reigning Late Model champion at the track. Johnson is 20 points behind Huddleston and 38 points out of first.
Huddleston took a huge hit in the standings. He was collected in a crash with teammate Beau Debard on lap 20 of the 50-lap race. Huddleston dropped to last place and ended up in 18th place in the 21-car field.
Travis Irving of Corona was second, followed by Joanides in third. Joanides fell from second to third on the last lap. He almost crashed with Huddleston, who was a lap down to the race leaders. While Joanides was trying to maneuver his car around Huddlestons car, Irving passed Joanides and took over second place. Joanides avoided Huddleston and his third-place finish was good enough to take over the lead in the Late Model standings.
Irving said it was a dangerous move my Huddleston on the last lap. Joanides said he expected more class and respect from Huddleston, who was nursing a damaged car around the race track.
Joanides is the leader in the NASCAR Super Late Model and Late Model standings at the track. No driver has ever won the Super Late Model and Late Model championships at Irwindale in the same season.
R.J. Johnson of Canyon Country won the NASCAR Super Stocks race under caution. It was his fifth win of the season in the Super Trucks division and his first since June 27. Johnson also won the S2 stock car race last Saturday night at the track.
Pat Mintey Jr. of Quartz Hill, the leader in the Super Trucks standings, was spun out on the last lap of the race. He fell to the back of the field, but ended up with a fifth-place finish. Instead of having the race end with a green-white-checker flag finish, track officials decided to end the race under caution. Mintey retained the fifth-place position he had on the last lap before he was spun out.
Rookie Grant Hebner of Fallbrook was second, followed by Jeff Peterson of Riverside in third.
Rookie Dallas Montes of Bakersfield won the Legend Cars race. It was his second win in a row. Ryan Reed of Bakersfield, the leader in the Legend Cars standings at the track, was second. Donny St. Ours of Upland was third.
Brandon Toy of Bakersfield was 12 points behind Reed for the lead in the Legend Cars standings at the track. Toy finished 18th in the 50-lap race and is 44 points out of first with only one race remaining.
Ken Michaelian of Lawndale won the Classic Stocks race. It was his eighth win of the season and his fifth in a row. He has a 50-point lead in the Classic Stocks standings with two races to go.
Tommy Agosta of Chino was second, followed by David Foster of Riverside in third.
Rod Proctor of Riverside won the Outlaw Figure 8s race. Steve Stewart of Long Beach was second, followed by Billy Ziemann of Bloomington in third.

No comments:

Post a Comment