Saturday, August 21, 2010

Mike Johnson wins second straight NASCAR Late Model race at Irwindale

It looks like Mike Johnson is poised to put together another winning streak in the NASCAR Late Model division at Toyota Speedway at Irwindale.
Johnson won the Late Model race at Irwindale on Saturday night. It was his second in a row and his third of the season. He won four in a row last year and five of the last nine races. Johnson said he would like to win the rest of the races in the Late Model season at Irwindale.
“That’s my plan,” said Johnson, a driver from Covina. “I always think I’m gonna win when I come here. I guess that’s a good thing to have.”
Nick Joanides, the reigning Late Model champion at Irwindale, was second and R.J. Johnson, the leader in the Late Model standings at the track, was third.
“I felt like the meat in the Johnson sandwich,” Joanides said after the race. “We kept it close. R.J.’s a great racer. We chipped away two points off the 22 we lost last week.”
R.J. Johnson saw his lead in the Late Model standings trimmed to 24 points over Joanides. There are four races remaining in the Late Model season.
In other races at the track, Darren Amidon of Santee won the Legend Cars race, his third in a row. He has won seven of the past eight Legend Cars races. His worst finish in that stretch was a runner-up.
Chad Schug of Oak Hills was second, followed by Tony Green of Oak Hills in third.
Brent Sheidmantle of Alta Loma, the leader in the Legend Cars standings at the track, was sixth. He has a 34-point lead over Schug.
Gerrit Cromsigt of Saugus won the NASCAR Super Stocks race. It was his fourth win of the season and his fourth win in the past five Super Stocks races.
Rich DeLong III of Santa Clarita, the leader in the Super Stocks standings, was second. Eric Sunness of Chatsworth was third.
Daryl Scoggins of Sunland won the NASCAR Mini Stocks race. It was his second win in a row and his sixth of the season.
Ryan Bragdon of Beamont was second, followed by Richie Altman of Wildomer in third.
Scoggins leads the Mini Stocks standings by 16 points over Jacob Rogers of Riverside. Rogers was seventh out of eight cars in the Mini Stocks race.
Jeff Williams of Newbury Park won the Southwest Tour Trucks Series race. It was his fourth win of the season.
Neil Conrad of Arcadia was second followed by Brady Helm of Huntington Beach in third.
Michael Zimmerman of Hemet, the leader in the Southwest Tour Truck Series standings, was fourth.

No comments:

Post a Comment