Saturday, August 20, 2011

Rookie Dylan Lupton wins NASCAR Late Model race at Irwindale

Rookie Dylan Lupton of Wilton won the NASCAR Late Models race, his fourth of the season, at Toyota Speedway at Irwindale on Saturday night.
Brandon Davis of Huntington Beach, the leader in the Late Model standings at the track, was second.
The race was stopped when leader RJ Johnson of Canyon Country crashed into the turn 3 wall on lap 18. He blew a tire and the explosion ripped off the left front fender and driverside door panel. Johnson was not hurt in the crash, but he had to withdraw from the race.
Larry Cerquettini of Redlands was third and recorded his first podium finish in the Late Models.
Chad Schug of Oak Hills won the Legends Cars race and took over the lead in the Legends Cars standings at the track. It was his sixth win of the season.
Schug and Brent Scheidemantle of Alta Loma came into the race tied for the lead in the Legends Cars standings. Schug has a slight two-point lead after winning.
Scheidemantle was second in a crash-filled race. Cory Miles crashed into the turn 1 foam barrier in one of the more violent wrecks. He was able to walk away from the crash.
Darren Amidon of Alpine finished third.
Austin Grabowski won the open comp race. He was followed by Joe Anderson of Valencia in second and Jim Schoening of San Diego in third.
Richard Smith of Los Angeles won the Drive Tech Late Models race. Christopher Evans of San Bernardino was second and David Sear of La Jolla was third.
Eric Sunness of Chatsworth won the NASCAR Super Stocks race and Curtis White of Norwalk took over the lead in the Super Stocks standings at the track.
Sunness won his second race of the season, but he has missed two races. White was the runner-up and passed Rich DeLong III of Santa Clarita for the lead in the Super Stock standings. White has a four-point lead over DeLong after eight races.
Zack Green of Long Beach was third.
Brandon Weaver of Baker won the Bandoleros race, his third in a row. Weaver passed for the lead on the final lap a green-white-checkered flag finish.
Ricky Schlick of Claremont was second, followed by Austin Farr of Lomita in third.

No comments:

Post a Comment