Sunday, April 26, 2009

Irving, Joanides win NASCAR Late Model races at Irwindale

Travis Irving of Corona won the first of two NASCAR Late Model races on Saturday night at Toyota Speedway at Irwindale. It was his first win of the season and he was the third different winner in as many races at the track. Nick Joanides of Woodland Hills, who won the Late Model season opener, was second, followed by Mike Johnson of Covina.
Tim Huddleston of Agoura Hills, the reigning Late Model champion at the track, was fourth and Andrew Myers, who won the second Late Model race of the season, was fifth.
Joanides won the crashed-filled second race. Huddleston’s car was one of the many that didn’t make it to the end. Only 12 of the 28 cars that started the race finished on the lead lap. Thirteen of the cars were either involved in a crash or withdrew from the race early.
Myers spun out Huddleston in turn 4 and destroyed the front end of Huddleston’s car. Myers was ejected from the race by track officials. He was sent to the back of the field at the start of the race for rough driving, but rallied into third place before spinning out Huddleston. Myers entered the twin races tied for the lead in the Late Model standings with Huddleston.
Joanides, driving with a cracked bone in his hand, took over the lead in the Late Model standings with his first- and second-place finishes. He also leads the Super Late Model standings at the track. Joanides broke his hand in a crash during the Super Late Model race last week.
Johnson finished second in the second Late Model race. Darren Cheek of San Bernardino was third, followed by Sean Bennet of Crestline and Jeff Peterson of Riverside.
Daryl Soggins of Sunland won his first race of the season in the Mini Stocks division. Steve Rogers was second, followed by his son, Tyler Rogers of Riverside. Tyler Rogers won the first two Mini Stocks races of the season.
Ken Michaelian of Lawndale won his third race in a row in the NASCAR Classic Stocks division at the track. Tommy Acosta of Chino was second, followed by Harry Michaelian of Calabasas.
Larry Cirquettini of Redlands won the NASCAR Super Stocks race. It was his third win in a row. Rich DeLong III of Santa Clarita was second, followed by Ken Brown of Cherry Valley.

No comments:

Post a Comment