Saturday, April 4, 2009

Joanides, Dodd winners at Toyota Speedway at Irwindale

It was a twin 25 night for the NASCAR Super Late Models at Toyota Speedway at Irwindale on Saturday. The drivers in the Super Late Model division at the track had two 25-lap races.
Scott Dodd of Riverside won the first race. He was followed by Nick Joanides of Woodland Hills, the reigning Super Late Model champion at the track. Dodd snapped the two-race winning streak of Joanides, who won the Super Late Model opener two weeks ago and followed with a win in the Late Model season opener at the track last Saturday night.
For Dodd, it was his second win in the Super Late Models at Irwindale. For his comments on the race he won, click here.
Travis Thirkettle of Newhall, the runner-up in the Super Late Model standings last year, was third. Rip Michels , the 2007 Super Late Model champion at Irwindale, was fourth, followed by Bear Rzesnowiecky of Las Vegas, the top-finishing rookie, in fifth.
Joanides won the second race comfortably, making him a winner in three of four races to start the season at Irwindale. Michels was second, followed by Rzesnowiecky, Thirkettle and Luis Martinez Jr.
Joanides said he will be in the Late Model race next weekend, but more importantly, is starting off the Super Late Model season strong and looking for another championship.
For his comments, click here.
Mason Britton of Sacramento won the NASCAR Super Trucks race in one of the more competitive races of the year at the track. He held off a surging RJ Johnson, who finished second. Johnson, a driver from Canyon Country, rebounded after a disappointing showing on opening night two weeks ago. Johnson had ignition problems on opening night and went from battling for the lead to limping to the pits.
Pat Mintey Jr. of Quartz Hill, the reigning Super Trucks champion at the track and the opening night winner, was third. Ron Peterson of Riverside was fourth, followed by Jeff Peterson of Riverside in fifth.
The drivers in the Legends division paid tribute to Bob Landreth, who died during the off-season. Landreth was a regular in the Legends division since the first year the track opened in 1999. His son, Tom, drove his dad’s No. 3 car and led the field to the starting line at the beginning of the race.
Chad Schug of Oak Hills won the Legends race. He was followed by Donny St. Ours of Upland and Brandon Toy of Bakersfield.
Dalton Kuhn won the newly named South West Tour Trucks race. The series was previously known as the West Coast Pro Trucks. Neil Conrad was second, followed by Jim Satterfield.
Ryan Canssale won the Bandeleros race. He was followed by Blake Dunkleberger in second and Chancellor Tisareno was third.
Al Simpson was disqualified for having an illegal carburetor. The part was discovered in post-race inspection. Simpson was the winner of the Bandeleros race until he was disqualified.

No comments:

Post a Comment