Saturday, June 27, 2009

Huddleston wins Late Model race at Irwindale

Tim Huddleston of Agoura Hills won the NASCAR Late Models race and closed within two points of the lead in the Late Model standings at Toyota Speedway at Irwindale.
Huddleston, the reigning Late Model champion at the track, won his fourth race of the season. It was also his fourth win in the past five races in the Late Model division at the track.
Mike Johnson of Covina was second, followed by Nick Joanides of Woodland Hills in third. Joanides is the leader in the Late Model Division. He has two Late Model wins, but hasn’t won since April 25. Joanides is also the leader in the Super Late Model division at the track.
R.J. Johnson won his third straight NASCAR Super Trucks Series race after having shock problems in qualifying. His crew replaced the rear shocks on his truck after qualifying. Johnson started fourth and worked his way to the front after a tense battle with Grant Hebner for the lead.
It was Johnson’s fourth win in the past five Super Trucks races at Irwindale.
Hebner, a rookie driver from Fallbrook, held on for second. Ron Peterson from Riverside was third.
Pat Mintey Jr. of Quartz Hill, the leader in the Super Trucks standings, was fourth. Bill Sedgwick, one of the original drivers in the NASCAR Camping World Trucks Series, was fifth. Sedgwick, who is the crew chief for the car driven by Ontario’s Jason Bowles in the NASCAR Camping World Series West, was making his first start of the season in the Super Trucks division at Irwindale.
Donny St. Ours of Upland made a last-lap pass on Ryan Reed of Bakersfield to win the Legends Cars race. It was the third win of the season for St. Ours and his third in the past four races at the track. Chad Schug of Oak Hills was third.
Brandon Toy of Bakersfield, the leader in the Legends Cars standings at Irwindale, had a bad points night. He completed only nine laps and finished 23rd.
Ken Michaelian of Lawndale won his third race in a row in the NASCAR Classic Stocks. It was his seventh win in eight races at the track this season.
Tommy Agosta of Chino was second followed by Mike Colato Jr. of Chatsworth.

No comments:

Post a Comment